Ashtanga Yoga


Ashtanga Yoga is an ancient system of Yoga that originates in the scripture ‘the Yoga Korunta’. Sri K Pattabhi Jois, who received his teachings from Krishnamacharya, passed it on widely to the West for over 30 years.

The main components of the practice are:

Vinyasa: Movement & breath are systematically practiced together.

Trishtana: 3 points of attention or the simultaneous practice of the following:

  • Postures
  • Breathing
  • Point of concentration / looking place

Another component is the core work which is the action of the Bandhas – these are energy locks that retain the energy generated in the practice. The Bandhas create lightness of body together with core strength and stamina.

The simultaneous practice of these creates a detoxifying heat in the body, makes the body strong and flexible and strengthens the nervous system.

The Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga system is divided into series of Asanas:

  • Primary Series – Yoga Chikitsa Yoha Therapy
  • Intermediate Series – Nadi Sodhana Strengthening of the Nervous System
  • Advanced Series –  Sthira Bhaga (3rd, 4th, 5th and 6th series) Establishment of Beauty and Grace.

Chants are traditionally sung at the beginning and the end of the practice. View more >